Dubai Wolves by CAFU and UAE Polo Win on Day 4 of IFZA Gold Cup 2023


The fourth day of the IFZA Gold Cup was action-packed with two matches between Clinova Noa Capital Polo and Dubai Wolves by CAFU, followed by UAE Polo and Ghantoot Polo teams.

A critical match, as both teams - Dubai Wolves by CAFU and Capital Noa Capial Polo, needed to earn their first win in the tournament. Carlos Ulloa scored the first opening goal for Dubai Wolves by CAFU, followed by two more goals by Teodora Lacau and Ulloa. Dubai Wolves by CAFU dominated the game until the second chukker, maintaining a 5-0 lead over Clinova Noa Capital Polo. Although the opposing team scored one goal each in the third and fourth chukker, the Wolves kept their lead with four goals, resulting in a final score of 6-2. The Clinova Noa Capital polo team managed to make an excellent comeback, with their Patron - Raja Karim scoring 2 goals and 1 goal by Benjamin Panelo, with great display of polo skills shown by Tomas Iriarte and Facundo Llorente. In the end, it was Dubai Wolves by CAFU who secured their first win in the tournament.

Match Progression:
3 – 0 | 5 – 0 | 6 – 1 | 6 – 2 | 7 - 5

Top Scorer: Benjamin Panelo, Carlos Ulloa and Teodora Lacau – 3 goals

Each team carrying a victory under its belt, UAE Polo and Ghantoot Polo delivered an exciting game for the spectators of Al Habtoor Polo Club. Marcos Araya opened the scoring with a 40-yard penalty shot, and Segundo Amadori doubled Ghantoot Polo's lead to make it a two-goal advantage over UAE Polo. Tommy Beresford narrowed the score gap with three goals, and Lucas Monteverde Jr. scored a goal in the last minute of the second chukker. Tommy Beresford, with three penalty shots of 30, 40, and 60 yards, brought his team to a double-digit score, ending the third chukker with a 10-2 lead. UAE Polo managed to maintain the lead in the penultimate chukker as well with a 12 - 4 score, and by the end of the final stretch, UAE Polo marched its way through to ensure another win of the tournament.

Match Progression:
1 – 2 | 5 – 2 | 10 – 3 | 12 – 4 | 12 – 8
Top Scorer: Tommy Beresford – 8 goals

The next round of qualifying matches will be on the 21st of February:
14:00 – Bangash Dodson & Horrell Polo vs. Mahra by AIX Investment Group Polo | Field 1
16:15 – AM Polo vs. IFZA Habtoor Polo | Field 3 

This website probably won't work great in Internet Explorer 11. We generally only support the recent versions of major browsers like Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. Some of the pages may not function properly if you continue to use IE 11.